2007 Excellence.Gov Awards finalists announced

We just announced the finalists for the 2007 Excellence.Gov Awards! The competition was stiff this year, with more nominations than any prior year and many deserving projects. On February 20 (11.30am — 2pm, Mandarin Oriental Hotel in Washington DC), we’ll be honoring all 20 finalists at our award ceremony and announcing the top 5 award winners. Be sure to come along! Registration will be available on the ACT/IAC web site shortly. Here’s the press release from ACT/IAC:


“Top 5” Winners to be Announced at February 20 Awards Luncheon

FAIRFAX, Va., January 8, 2007 – The Industry Advisory Council’s (IAC) Collaboration and Transformation Shared Interest Group (C&T SIG) today announced the “Top 20” candidates for the seventh annual Excellence.Gov awards program. The 20 program finalists were selected for demonstrating excellence in leveraging technology to enhance collaboration.

A panel of 23 judges, representing both government and industry, selected the “Top 20” after reviewing 115 entries and evaluating each on the following criteria: clearly articulated means of collaboration enabled by technology; use of innovative information technology to support the objectives of collaborating organizations and federal strategic goals and objectives; demonstrable efficiency gains, cost advantages, or superiority over previous methods of collaboration, supported by metrics; and a sound approach to addressing security and privacy of data. From the 20 finalists, five winners will be selected and recognized for their achievements. The “Top 20” programs will be honored and the five winners announced at the Excellence.Gov Awards ceremony and reception, to be held on Tuesday, February 20, 2007 from 11:30 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. at The Mandarin Oriental Hotel in Washington, D.C.

“Top 20” Excellence.Gov Award Finalists for 2007 (listed alphabetically by program name):

  1. Advanced Technologies and Oceanic Procedures (ATOP) (Federal Aviation Administration)
  2. BantuConnect/DefenseConnect (U.S. Army)
  3. Defense Civilian Personnel Data System (DCPDS) (Department of Defense Civilian Personnel Management Service (CPMS))
  4. Disaster Management E‑Gov Initiative (Department of Homeland Security)
  5. Distributed Learning System (U.S. Army)
  6. E‑Rulemaking’s Docket Management System (Environmental Protection Agency)
  7. Electronic Capital Planning and Investment Control (eCPIC) (U.S. Department of State)
  8. Enterprise Human Resource Integration (EHRI) (Office of Personnel Management)
  9. GovBenefits.gov (Department of Labor)
  10. Homeport (United States Coast Guard)
  11. Information Collection Request, Review and Approval System (ICRAS) (Department of Health and Human Services)
  12. Integrated Acquisition Environment (IAE) (General Services Administration)
  13. Integrated Common Analytical Viewer (iCAV) (Department of Homeland Security)
  14. IRRIS Technology (U.S. Military Surface Deployment and Distribution Command Transportation Engineering Agency (SDDCTEA))
  15. Justice Information System (JUSTIS) (The Criminal Justice Coordinating Council, Government of the District of Columbia (CJCC))
  16. Knowledge Services Network (KSN) (Federal Aviation Administration)
  17. Medical Communications for Combat Casualty Care (MC4) (U.S. Army)
  18. My HealtheVet (Veterans Health Administration)
  19. Resource Patient Management System (Indian Health Service)
  20. Scientific Coding System OnDemand (National Institutes of Health)

The mission of IAC is to foster improved communication and understanding between government and industry. In support of this mission, the Collaboration and Transformation SIG is devoted to identifying, exploring, and addressing issues that promote the implementation of eGovernment programs that will benefit society. The Collaboration and Transformation SIG provides a forum for government and industry to identify and candidly discuss eGovernment and to facilitate the realization of the concept’s promise.

ACT-IAC would like to thank the 2007 Excellence.Gov Awards sponsors: BEA, e‑Source Technology, General Dynamics, Google, and Lockheed Martin.